With eye on Bengal polls, BJP puts central leaders in charge of organisational zones | India News – Times of India


KOLKATA: After Bihar, the BJP has now shifted its focus to West Bengal. The BJP has formed an eleven-member core team to prepare the ground against the ruling Trinamool Congress party led by chief minister Mamata Banerjee, for the upcoming assembly polls.
Some of the core team members are said to have already landed in Kolkata on Monday to take stock of ground realities.
According to sources, the BJP has divided the state into five organisational zones and put central BJP leaders in charge of them.
BJP chief J P Nadda and former party chief Amit Shah have decided to keep the command for the assembly polls under the direct charge of the central leadership rather than the state party unit, sources said.
The eleven-member core team include central party general secretaries Kailash Vijaywarghiya and Dushyant Gautam, five party secretaries – Sunil Deodhar, Vinod Tawade, Vinod Sonkar, Harish Dwivedi and Arvind Menon, central IT and social media cell chief Amit Malviya and two state leaders Amit Chakravarty and Kishore Burman.
While Kailash Vijaywargiya will be the coordinator, IT cell head Amit Malviya and party secretaries Sunil Deodhar and Arvind Menon, Vinod Tawde are part of the team to prepare the ground for the battle, that BJP has been inspired into since it won an unprecedented 18 of the 42 seats from the state.
The decision was announced at a high-level organisational meeting held in Kolkata in the presence of BJP national general secretary (organisation) B L Santosh and national general secretary Kailash Vijayvargiya.
Deodhar, who was one of the prime architects of the party’s victory in Tripura two years ago, has been given the charge of Midnapore zone, a region where the party has made deep inroads in the last Lok Sabha polls. The region is mainly populated by tribal and backward communities.
Dushyant Gautam, BJP national general secretary, will be in-charge of Kolkata region. National secretary Harish Dwivedi and Vinod Sonkar have been put in charge of north Bengal and Rarh Banga regions respectively.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here