Connect with us


Kerala Election Results 2021: Left Hopes To Retain Power, Congress Banking On Anti-Incumbency



Kerala Election Results 2021: Left Hopes To Retain Power, Congress Banking On Anti-Incumbency

Kerala had registered a voter turnout of 73.40 per cent (File)

New Delhi:

Kerala voted in a single phase on April 6 to elect 140 MLAs to the state Assembly, whose term will end on June 1, 2021. The state had registered a voter turnout of 73.40 per cent. The counting of votes will begin at 8 am today.

The Assembly Elections were held with strict adherence to anti-coronavirus protocols. Wearing of masks and maintaining proper social distance was made mandatory during the entire election process. The number of polling booths was increased for staggered voting.

In the 2016 elections, the CPIM-led Left Democratic Front or LDF had won the majority of votes. The main fight in the state is between the LDF and the Congress-led UDF. While Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan hopes to form the government for the second consecutive term, the Congress, which had won 19 of the 20 Lok Sabha seats in Kerala in 2019, is banking on the anti-incumbency factor.

In the past, the state has alternated between the LDF and UDF alliances. But the poll of exit polls has predicted a change to the pattern, allocating 85 of 140 seats to the LDF alliance and 53 to the Congress-led UDF.

The BJP, which has only one MLA in the state Assembly, hopes to win a toehold in the state.

Here are the Live Updates on the Kerala Assembly Elections Results 2021:

Kerala Exit Poll Results Show Left LDF Ahead Of Congress UDF
Exit poll results from Kerala on Thursday appeared to give the edge to the ruling Left Democratic Front (LDF) coalition while the Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) seemed to come in second. The BJP was seen winning a couple of seats as well.

An aggregate of five exit polls showed the LDF front is likely to win 85 of 140 seats – ahead of the half-way mark – and the Congress-led UDF at 53 seats, the polls say. The BJP is set to make its presence felt with two seats.

No Victory Celebrations Allowed Amid Raging Covid Pandemic
The Election Commission has put a ban on victory celebrations amid a raging coronavirus pandemic. India, caught in the devastating second wave of Covid, reported over four lakh cases on Saturday, setting a grim global record.

Kerala Election Results 2021: All You Need To Know
The Kerala Assembly election 2021 results will be announced today after votes are counted. The Kerala Assembly elections were held in a single phase on April 6. Check Kerala Election Result 2021 online.


Officials outside a counting centre in Thiruvananthapuram. Vote counting begins at 8 am.

Live Election Results 2021 Assam, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Puducherry Results: All Eyes On Trinamool Congress’ Mamata Banerjee vs BJP, AIADMK’s E Palaniswami vs MK Stalin, Pinarayi Vijayan vs UDF, Sarbananda Sonowal vs Congress Fight

Who will rule West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Assam, Kerala and Puducherry for the next five years? The answer to the most discussed question will start emerging from 8 am today when the counting of votes for the 822 Assembly seats begin amid strict Covid protocols.

Election Results 2021: Counting Day For India’s Biggest Election Amid Pandemic: 10 Points

Counting of votes for the Assam, Bengal, Kerala, Puducherry and Tamil Nadu Assembly polls – held between March 27 and April 29 – starts 8 am, amid a devastating second Covid wave and concerns the process could lead to a even bigger spike.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *